Pokémon GO!

Remember hearing about Pokémon GO almost a year ago? Well, it’s here! Kinda. Pokémon GO was let loose last night, but only in certain countries. Australia and New Zealand Android and iOS users appear to have access to the app. But it seems the US and UK are having no luck.

However, if like me you own an Android phone, you can nab the app now! Thank you to Twitter for bringing this to my attention. Click on this APK File link (thank you Eurogamer) and install the extra files to your Android. I and several others have done this and encountered no problems.

So, what is Pokémon GO? Well, in a nutshell, its a augmented reality mobile game from Nintendo and developer Niantic Labs. The story of Pokémon is you need to go forth and collect (capture) as many Pokemon as you can, fill up that Pokédex, battle gym leaders and become … wait for it …

Yes, this is a free app, but according to The Verge the game “does contain microtransactions costing $0.99 to $99.99. You can also purchase a $35 wrist-worn wearable, due out some time this month, that lets you play the game without having to unlock your phone.

“But why do I need Pokémon on my phone? I have it on Nintendo DS!” I hear you ask. Well, think of the health perks. In Pokémon GO you have to walk around your home, city, village, etc in order to catch different Pokémon. Although some users are reporting they have captured Pokémon from the comfort of their own beds!

I captured my first Pokémon (one of my favs), Bulbasuar, by going into my kitchen. The cats must have thought I had finally gone mad. But now I cant find any more in my home. So yes, I will have to venture forth into my local village to locate more, meaning I have to be active in order to get different Pokémon.

Of course with any handheld device and travelling, you need to be aware of your surroundings. So make sure you watch where you’re heading. And if you do need to venture into a neighbours garden to grab that Rattata or Jigglypuff, make sure you ask them first!

imageedit_2_2315421901

